Benefits of Polish Citizenship

The European Union is a political and economic partnership with 28 member states. Being an EU citizen enables you to work and live wherever you want in the Union. Polish citizenship gives you EU citizenship automatically so you don't need permits or visas to settle in any of the member states. Some of the advantages of EU citizenship are listed below.

  • No need for visas or work permits
  • Transfer of citizenship onto children & grandchildren
  • Unlimited working & residential rights
  • Opportunity to select advantageous tax regimens
  • Access to subsidized tertiary education & scholarships
  • Ability to own property & access preferential loans
  • International travel flexibility & cross-border mobility
  • Right to consular protection by EU member states
  • Access to national health care benefits
  • Ability to hold public service positions & rights to vote
  • Access to social security & welfare benefits
  • Connection to your heritage & family history

About the EU

Citizenship of the European Union was established with the Maastricht Treaty in 1992. It is supplementary to national citizenship and includes the right to vote in European elections, the right to free movement, as well as residence and employment across the EU. European citizenship does not replace national citizenship – it is an additional status and set of rights and obligations available to citizens of the member states of the EU.

If you have citizenship of any of the EU member countries, you are automatically an EU citizen. EU citizenship can be acquired by birth or by descent. Each member state’s legislation on citizenship is different, so you need to comply with its individual internal regulations if you want to pursue it. Having a Polish passport is like having a passport to any EU country, allowing you to live and work anywhere in the EU.

The EU is an integrated market in which citizens and goods and services, can move freely across borders. It currently has 28 member states. These are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden & the UK.